• January 21, 2021 at 1:48 pm#48551
    Liz
    Admiral
    @liz-cleere

    We’re cranking up and commencing the year with a live chat.

    It’s an open forum, but we will address ALL YOUR questions, so no need to wait till we’re live. Comment below with any topic you’d like us to talk about.

    We’ll be going live from SY Esper at 06:00 on the morning of Monday 25th January (with strong cups of coffee to help!)

    But times differ around the world, so check below for some local times:

    👉SUNDAY 24th January
    🕑San Francisco, USA – 14:00 (PST)
    🕔New York, USA – 17:00 (EST)
    🕡St. John’s, CA – 18:30 (NST)
    🕙London, UK – 22:00 (GMT)

    👉MONDAY 25th January
    🕕KK, Malaysia – 06:00
    🕕Perth, AUS – 06:00 (AWST)
    🕘Canberra, AUS – 09:00 (AEDT)
    🕚Wellington, NZ – 11:00 (NZDT)

    LINK TO LIVE CHAT – REMEMBER TO TAP THE “SET REMINDER” BELL:

    https://youtu.be/MTee3DjkFhA

    We’re looking forward to talking to you!

    Liz and Jamie xx

    Peace and fair winds!

    January 21, 2021 at 2:59 pm#48557
    Danny Basso
    Bosun
    @danny

    very well .. you with a cup of strong coffee .. me with a herbal tea to help me sleep 😁

    Buon Vento

    January 21, 2021 at 6:43 pm#48558
    Peter Haliburton
    Deckhand
    @jphaliburton

    Thanks for adding my local time. I usually have to figure that out myself. 🙂 Looks like we can tune in after supper.

    Based on your current schedule, when do you expect to reach eastern Canada?

    Living and sailing in Newfoundland, Canada

    January 23, 2021 at 9:42 am#48573
    Jamie
    Skipper
    @jamie-ftb

    Thanks for the feedback, guys.

    Any more takers on this? We’re hoping questions from our FTBMATES will help direct the live chat schedule. Let us know your thoughts!

    Peace and fair winds!

    January 24, 2021 at 4:21 am#48574

    Hi Jamie and Liz,

    looking into purchasing a water maker, love to hear your thoughts on what you have been using, also do you have a Ultra Violet system

    another topic is WIFI and what equipment do you guys use? Do you have a LTE modem with a booster or do you use your phone as a hot spot.

     

    thanks

    John and Michele Schultz

    January 25, 2021 at 8:52 am#48575
    Peter Haliburton
    Deckhand
    @jphaliburton

    That was a fun and interesting live chat. Didn’t even feel like it was that long. Nice to see over 500 people show up.

    Thanks for answering my question. I estimate it will be at least 6 years before reaching our shores. If it is 7 years then I’ll probably be retired and able to show you around Newfoundland. A lot can change between now and then.

    Living and sailing in Newfoundland, Canada

    January 31, 2021 at 6:18 pm#48623
    Stuart McKenzie
    Bosun
    @macandmam

    Hi Liz and Jamie,

    With a strong cup of tea I sat at a very early hour in Thailand and watched your live chat session, over 500? Wow, that’s a great turn out whatever the time and circumstances (not that I’m suggesting that during a lockdown there’s snap all else to do) 😇.

    My question is this, do you have an idea what percentage of these followers of the boat are like us and actively pursuing a life on board (border closures not withstanding), how many intend to do this when they retire and how many are just in it for the ride and the vicarious adventuring through your regular episodes?

    Through the mist of my hot tea I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of questions, and answers, and thought it a great start of a day, and then back to bed!

    Keep up the good work, for my money you’re the most interesting and informative vblog around.

    Cheers Mac and Mam(she stayed in bed and watched later).

    January 31, 2021 at 7:22 pm#48624
    Jamie
    Skipper
    @jamie-ftb

    Thanks for the feedback, Mac, always appreciated. Obviously we can’t say categorically absolute numbers of type of viewer but it’s clear to us that many are similar to yourselves. That is, genuinely looking to buy a boat and gathering as much info as possible from our videos. It’s one reason why we try to be as informative as possible, from lifestyle to technical. Also, it helps that we are similar in she to the average potential boat owner. We can offer a slightly more ‘real’ perspective on selling up and going sailing.

    Tell Mam to get out of bed 😁

    Peace and fair winds!

    January 31, 2021 at 9:49 pm#48636
    Keith Giunta
    Bosun
    @raenman66

    how many intend to do this when they retire and how many are just in it for the ride and the vicarious adventuring through your regular episodes?

    One for the stats:  I lived aboard a Pearson 26 for 2 years in Maine (yes, even in Winter) about 20 years ago.  Now I live in Texas and am intending on retiring as a live-aboard in a couple of years.  The ultimate goal is to cruise, pausing only to re-provision, initially alternating between Maine and parts South, depending on the season.  Atlantic crossing?  One, hopefully.  Aim high.  I’m already nearly 71;  time’s a-wasting and I want to get cracking while my health is still very good.

    So, I scour the web for helpful vlogs, research available sailboats on the market for suitability and cost and gather as much information as possible on various related topics. I will be sailing solo (so far), so the boats that I’m researching reflect that fact with respect to size.

    Liz and Jamie’s vlog is one of my favorites; it combines very useful information along with beautiful imagery. I’ve binge-watched most of the early vlogs including the refit. Even if I were not intending to “go nautical”, I’d continue to ‘follow the boat’; Liz and Jamie are a delight to watch. I loved the live stream.

    Keith Giunta

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Topic Tags